Thursday, December 10, 2009

Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year (Music Review)

Only 3 songs in the album, and all are good

Music director: Sulaiman and Salim Merchant

Lyricist: Jaideep Sahni

Singers: Benny Dayal, Vishal Dadlani and Salim Merchant

"Chak De! India" director Shimit Amin is back with "Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year". If the Shah Rukh Khan-starrer had six original tracks, the album of his new film has only three songs. But they are definitely worth hearing.

The music of "Rocket Singh", which has Ranbir Kapoor in the lead, is by composer brothers Salim and Sulaiman Merchant and the soundtrack has eight bonus tracks from old Yash Raj Films.

The first song "Gadbadi hadbadi" is sung by composer Salim himself. It is full of punch and is an energetic number. The song has a rock feel owing to its orchestration. It gets an edge when it slows down in between and then again gains momentum.

Next is a beautiful number "Pankho ko" crooned by Benny Dayal. The song has a certain raw appeal and the lyrics are insightful and intriguing. The strumming of the guitar makes it soft and soothing to the ears. The track holds the interest of the listener right till the end.

Finally, we have the title track that is doing the rounds of TV channels. "Pocket mein rocket" has Vishal Dadlani behind the mike and is a fun song. The foot-tapping number will be liked by many.

Other than these, the album has bonus tracks like "Chak de" ("Chak De! India"), "Chhaliya" ("Tashan"), "Dance pe chance" ("Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi"), "Dil haara" ("Tashan"), "Haule haule" ("Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi"), "Jogi mahi" ("Bachna Ae Haseeno"), Khuda jaane" ("Bachna Ae Haseeno") and "Lucky boy" ("Bachna Ae Haseeno").

The album might have just three original songs but they are appealing and quite interesting.

post by


Post a Comment